Approachable

I had carefully dressed, fixed my hair, and asked Dave how I looked before going out the door.  He gazed at me and said, “Approachable”.

Driving to my destination I kept pondering that thought.  “Approachable?”  “What does that MEAN?”

“Beautiful” can have an invisible barrier, keeping insecure people away.  “Approachable” may not look as good, but is far more attractive.  Beauty can be approachable, but only when it does not hold on to appearance:

“Have this attitude in yourselves which was also in Christ Jesus,  who, although He existed in the form of God, did not regard equality with God a thing to be grasped,  but  emptied Himself, taking the form of a bond-servant, and being made in the likeness of men.”

Jesus was willing to get ugly so that we could approach God without fear.

“Approachable” is quite a compliment. 

